Manpreet Horton

Where are you from?

I’m from Birmingham (or Handsworth Wood to be more exact!) and have lived here pretty much all my life. I’m lucky enough to have grown up in a pretty affluent which has certainly affected the way that I perceive my sexual health. My parents are second-generation migrants, my grandparents having moved here from India back in the fifties; they opened their business importing and selling spices to their neighbours at first and then the rest of the city.

What was your childhood like? 

My parents were busy people, by the time they’d inherited my grandparents’ business they had three kids and a huge amount of balls to juggle. Luckily they had a good support network of friends, family and neighbours so we were always well looked after. Thanks to their hard work I could afford to be send to private school and then university, two experiences that significantly changed me as an individual.

What do you do for a living?

After graduating from the University of Birmingham in 2015, I started taking a more hands-on role in the business. Both my parents have worked 50-plus hour weeks for most of their adult lives, I want to help them retire early and take over their business within the next 2 years.

What are you aiming to achieve here? 

My education and upbringing was truly enriching, but I’ve come to realise that my education in terms of sexual health was severely lacking. I want to raise awareness for this issue and highlight how simply ‘teaching’ sex education isn’t enough to properly prepare young people for engaging in sexual relationships.